Cleaning

17 Oct

Cleaning has never been the challenge for me.  Keeping things clean and organized however is a different story.  I have tried so many different ways to keep things organized that it is crazy.  I still usually live a very messy lifestyle.

Living with roomies can be tricky in this way if you mess spills over into other shared places and spaces.  Something that I have started to do is to keep everything else except my room very clean.  I wipe down the counters and the stove each time that I use them.  I vacuum the carpet every other weekend (my roomie takes my off weekends), and then there is the bathroom.  I clean the counter and the mirror, I change the towels and the toilet paper.  I make sure there is plenty of soap and room spray but the thing that I forget every time is to get my hair out of the drain and pick the shower mat up out of the tub so that it doesn’t mold!

white_vinegar

Speaking of mold nobody likes that, to clean everything I use one product – comet!  Comet cleans the hell out of everything!!  The toilet – comet, the sink – comet, the shower – comet, the metal shower heads and kitchen sink – comet, the floors – comet!  However, I have learned that this is an abrasive product and will scratch certain surfaces like a shower stall and a bathroom sink.  To save money from buying all those crazy expensive cleaning products, if I can’t use comet….I use vinegar!

baking sodaVinegar and baking soda are the most perfect combination to clean with although be careful when mixing the two, there could be some explosions!  I normally just wet the surface pour the baking soda on it then the vinegar and make a paste like substance.  From there I simply rub it in and clean whatever it is that is dirty.

Between the comet costing something like .60 cents and the vinegar and baking soda costing like $1.89 ($1 for the baking soda and .$89 for the vinegar) it really isn’t a huge strain on your wallet.  And you aren’t using so many harsh chemicals!

Let me know how you find new ways to clean effectively!

Leave a Reply

