Food……the grocery store

22 Jan

As we all know that living on our own is difficult; it is hard to manage money, friends, family, school and a job.  Another things that I always find difficult is grocery shopping.  When I go grocery shopping it is usually for one of two reasons: I am completely out of all edible food or I am procrastinating from something and want candy to eat.  Neither one of these things are good things to do.  Lately, I have been going on Sundays, after I have eaten.

However, when I get to the store I always have the same routine, first it is to the fresh produce section, where I get some bell peppers (random fact: bell peppers with 4 protrusions on the bottom are better for cooking and peppers with 3 protrusions on the bottom are better for just eating), carrots and celery.  Then I pick up one or two apples and three green bananas (I don’t like the yellow ones).  After I have my standards I then decided on either beets or radishes and salad or an avocado and tomato.

Next, I move on to the deli where I get 1/4lb of turkey and look at the selection of cheeses ( especially the fresh mozzarella).  I move on to the rest of the store where I buy cheese, milk, eggs and frozen chicken breasts.  Then I get to the frozen food section.  This is where everything goes terribly wrong.  I literally have to close my eyes as I walk past the ice cream and pizza rolls, then again past the lean cuisine dinners.  Once I make it to the frozen veggies section I get at least six bags of them!

Finally, I make it past the candy and into the checkout, where I always use the self-check out.  I scan all my items and I basically know every time what my bill will be and it is almost never more than $20, which may seem shockingly low to some of you but to me that is very high.

My first summer living apart from my parents and not having a meal plan on campus, I spent less than $10 every week in groceries, but not once in the summer did I feel hungry.  The thought of spending large amounts of money on things that were going to disappear in a week, scared me.  Which is why I did not spend much.

I suggest that as a college student, always make a list of what you want or need first, so the basics, eggs, milk, cheese and chicken are mine, then write down everything else that you want.  Now, look at the list and if there is more than 15 items on it, starting with the thing you need the least and want the most (frozen pizza bites) scratch them off.  This will help you to keep your budget low and your diet slim but healthy (if you get only basics).

Every once in a while as you walk through the candy isle with your eyes closed open them for just a second and grab yourself a sweet treat to reward yourself with all the money that you have been saving.

Leave a Reply

